Composer compilations can be a wonderful chance to discover new talent that can be well off the American scoring radar while being more than worthy of it, as is now the case for British musician Christopher Slaski. Spain’s Quartet Records certainly knows excellent work when they hear it in their impressive release of many highlights from Slaski’s ongoing career that shows off a formidable array of styles in this 80-minute album. Beginning with a beautiful, Morricone-esque talent for rapid-fire pianos and anguished strings with the main title of “Rue Huvelin” and the borderline dissonant, overlapping melodies of “Tenere Sulle Spine,” Slaski’s themes show off an affinity for melodic and classical lyricism (“La Verguenza”), pastoral longing (“Un Jour De Printemps”). But Slaski shows himself equally capable of more modern rhythms, from the humming, harpsichord retro Euro jazz of “Tu o Yo” to the brassy, bouncy continental comedy and peppy tango of “Semen, Una Historia De Amour.” Slaski’s interesting percussion enlivens “The Piano Tuner of Earthquakes” and the film noir tension of “I Anna” (even turning a phone busy signal to music), while answering, “Who is Florinda Balkan” with a cool Italian Giallo vocalese stylings. The most familiar title when it comes to American audiences is Slaski’s score for Kevin Spacey’s Bobby Darin biopic “Beyond the Sea,” which glides on lush, dramatic waves. But then, listening to Slaski’s “Film Works” is a constantly engaging voyage for a composer of note, now given an exceptional album to shine on. 

– Film Music Magazine –

Christopher Slaski Film Works

Christopher Slaski

The wide variety of cues include a selection of stylistically diverse short film scores such as the Morricone-inspired Who is Florinda Bolkan? or the Legrand-esque You or Me, Lebanon’s most critically acclaimed feature film entitled Rue Huvelin, the Spanish action movie Proyecto Dos, family dramas like La Vergüenza or Hollow or full-blooded comedy scores like Semen, una historia de amor. The compilation doesn’t forget about Christopher’s most requested titles like selections from the Brothers Quay’s The PianoTuner of EarthQuakes or the Bobby Darin biopic Beyond the Sea starring Kevin Spacey.  The program is rounded out by Slaski’s personal tributes to his musical heros like Astor Piazzolla, Michel Legrand, Philippe Sarde or Ennio Morricone.

The album is accompanied by a 12-page booklet written by Gergely Hubai in close collaboration with the composer. The notes describe all the projects in great details, based on the composer’s own recollections of this rich and versatile career.

Track Listing

01. Main Theme from Cuadrilatero (2:50)
02. Main Theme from 5 Millions (1:47)
03. Con Agressione from Proyecto Dos (1:45)
04. Main Title from Rue Huvelin (3:21)
05. Rapido from Proyecto Dos (2:35)
06. Theme from La Vergüenza (2:37)
07. Tenere Sulle Spine from Proyecto Dos (3:52)
08. End Credits from La Vergüenza (2:19)
09. Un Jour De Printemps (2:58)
10. At the Restaurant from Tú o yo (3:43)
11. Misteroso from Proyecto Dos (2:52)

Music from Semen Una Historia de Amor
12. Dieguito’s Theme (2:09)
13. Will She Forgive Him? (1:04)
14. Bicycle Ride / The Swing (1:13)
15. Suite from Beyond The Sea (4:04)
16. End Credits (Tú o yo) (1:40)
17. Seduction from The Pianotuner of Earthquakes (2:47)
18. Dance from El Perro del Hortelano (2:48)
19. Buenos Aires (3:48)
20. End Credits from Hollow (1:48)

Film Noir Suite from I, Anna
21. City at Dawn (2:38)
22. She Goes to Work (1:25)
23. She Takes the Elevator (1:11)
24. Blood On Her Hands (1:26)
25. Main Theme from Who is Florinda Bolkan? (1:58)
26. Romanza (2:01)

Music from Ludoterapia
27. Playing the Game (3:14)
28. End Titles (1:40)

The Frank Lloyd Wright Suite
29. Solar Hemicycle (6:53)
30. Wingspread (5:20)